Hamaara Bajaj!

Karan Thapar interviewed Rahul Bajaj on TV last week (CNN IBN). And we were treated to a fascinating duel of words. They fought like school kids. Interview log is a must read, will be worth your 5 minutes!

The highlights. #1

Rahul Bajaj: No why should I accept somebody’s wrong conclusion? Nobody will come to that conclusion. Karan Thapar would like them to come to that conclusion. It suits them to maintain his image of being a bully in an interview.

Karan Thapar: I am not being a bully, I’m simply trying to persist in insisting.

Rahul Bajaj: You are bullying a humble, simple, young man.

Karan Thapar: A humble, simple, young man, you definitely are, but an obstinate one who refuses to accept the obvious, that you are in politics.

Rahul Bajaj: I am not in politics.

And #2 (this is what set up #1)

Karan Thapar: Mr Bajaj you are wonderful with words but the problem is that you are short on logic. Parliament and being an MP is part of politics.

Rahul Bajaj: Where did you go to school Karan?

Karan Thapar: Is that relevant?

Rahul Bajaj: It is very relevant because your logic is illogical.

Karan Thapar:If it is relevant I will tell you. I went to Doon School, Cambridge, Oxford and I know a lot about politics.

Rahul Bajaj: I went to Cathedral, St. Stephens, and Harvard, slightly better than you in every respect. So I understand logic. But I am a humble man unlike you.

PS: I loved the way churumuri judged this duel – "you just can't beat a bajaj"!

Leave a Reply

